AACSRE Elects 2017 Officers at Fall 2016 Board Meeting

The Academic Advisory Council for Signage Research & Education (AACSRE) held its Fall Board meeting October 13 at Gemini Inc. (Cannon Falls, MN).

During the meeting, The Board elected its officers and Executive Committee for leadership for 2017:

Dawn Jourdan, President/Chairperson

Chris Auffrey, Vice President

Ray Taylor, Secretary

Eric Strauss, Treasurer

Joe Rickman, Member at Large

Bob Oast, Legal Counsel

Patty Herbin, Executive Director

The Board meeting also focused on the pending launch of the Interdisciplinary Journal of Signage and Wayfinding, the call for proposals for the Emerging Fellows Program, the development online signage course modules, and proposed white-paper topics to identify the impact academia is having in signage research, education and topical knowledge bases.

Jim and Sharon Weinel were honored at the meeting for their support of AACSRE and their vision of a collaborative network between the sign industry and academia. AACSRE Chairperson Dr. Dawn Jourdan noted the appropriateness of being "in this very special setting to honor Jim and Sharon Weinel [they founded Gemini] for the foundational gift that has breathed life and autonomy into the Academic Advisory Council for Signage Research & Education.

Jourdan continued, "The Weinels have invested heavily in people and programs that seek to change the world. They have invested in the futures of students, faculty and programs so that they, too, may embrace their dreams. From robotics programs to endowed professorship holders, the Weinels have created a network of dreamers who will ensure creativity of thought and ingenuity for future generations to come. The Academic Advisory Council for Signage Research & Education is committed to being the crown jewel in the Weinel’s philanthropic investments. Jim and Sharon Weinel were the pioneers in the sign industry who have long promoted the importance of peer-reviewed research and interdisciplinary education. "

For additional information on AACSRE, contact Patty Herbin at (336) 260-3197 or by email at patty@aacsre.org or Dawn Jourdan at dawn@aacsre.com.